This is how we proceed

Shareholder Engagement

Shareholder engagement involves shareholders or asset managers entering into a direct dialogue with companies. The focus lies on challenges in the areas of governance, society and the environment. At Globalance, we conduct dialogues on the topics of climate, biodiversity and human rights.

Our climate engagement

We see human-induced climate change and all the associated risks as one of the greatest challenges of our time. That is why we focus our dialogues with companies on their climate strategies. We take a five-step approach to our climate engagement:

Criteria for Analysing Companies

Greenhouse Gas Reporting

  • Are the relevant emissions published?
  • Are the published emissions verified by a third party

Greenhouse Gas Reduction

  • Has the company already achieved relevant emission reductions in the past?

Greenhouse Gas Reduction Targets

  • Does the company have ambitious emission reduction targets?
  • Are the relevant emission sources part of the targets?

Measures to Reduce Greenhouse Gas Emissions

  • Are specific measures to achieve the announced targets published?

Climate Governance

  • Is the topic of climate under the supervision of the Board of Directors?
  • Is there a person with climate expertise on the Board of Directors?
  • Is management remuneration linked to the communicated climate targets?

Company Dialogue – Climate Case Studies

Best Buy: Greater Transparency Needed on Climate Measures

The situation

The US retailer Best Buy is pursuing ambitious climate targets at operational level. However, 90 % of the company’s total greenhouse gas emissions come from energy consumption during the use of electronics and household appliances. Best Buy can reduce these by selling more energy-efficient appliances. Regarding these emissions, the company is aiming for a 20 per cent reduction by 2030.

our Concern

We are demanding greater transparency regarding the assumptions this goal is based on. Are products with high energy consumption actually being removed from the range or is the company simply hoping that customers will increasingly run their appliances on renewable electricity? We expect Best Buy to explain how the company is committed to the development of energy-saving appliances and to promoting their sale through appropriate measures (e.g. targeted marketing and product placement).

Interim Results of the Dialogue

Best Buy has developed internal measures for tracking its climate progress. Energy efficiency is measured for all product categories. Little has been published on either topic to date. Globalance continues to advocate for more meaningful communication and disclosure.

Sekisui House: More Grey Energy Must Be Saved

the situation

Sekisui House has achieved outstanding results in our “climate” analysis. The company has set itself ambitious goals and has already achieved impressive successes in reducing emissions during the utilisation phase of buildings with its innovative “net zero energy houses”. However, the issue of “grey energy”, which is contained in the materials used to build houses, is still being neglected. The company could save more emissions by reducing the use of concrete and steel.

our Concern

We are demanding that Sekisui House systematically records the greenhouse gas emissions from new construction and adopts reduction targets for this category.

Interim Results of the Dialogue

The company confirms the established status quo. A binding declaration of intent for future recording has not been issued yet. We will keep at it.

Nike: Better Risk Management Against Rainforest Deforestation Needed

The situation

By using leather, paper and cardboard, Nike runs the risk of causing the deforestation of rainforests. To prevent this, Nike traces the leather it buys back to the country of origin. In the case of leather from Brazil, suppliers must confirm to Nike in writing that the cattle were reared outside the Amazon region.

Our Concern

We demand that Nike ensures that for high-risk raw materials and countries of origin, the raw materials are traced back to the place of production. Information from suppliers alone is insufficient. An audit by an independent, qualified third-party organisation is required.

Interim Results of the Dialogue

Nike’s initial response to our demands was generic and unsatisfactory. We will continue to monitor the company’s progress in this area and bring up our demands again next year.

We analyse portfolio companies for their impact on the environment and health and write to the companies with tailored recommendations for improvement.

We will publish our recommendations here in the first quarter of 2024.

Updates on the topic of stewardship

so gehen wir vor

Shareholder Engagement

Beim Shareholder Engagement treten Aktienbesitzer oder Vermögensverwalter in einen direkten Dialog mit Unternehmen. Im Fokus stehen Herausforderungen in den Bereichen Governance, Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Bei Globalance führen wir Dialoge zu den Themen Klima, Biodiversität und Menschenrechte.

Unser Klima-Engagement

Wir sehen den menschenverursachten Klimawandel und alle damit verbundenen Risiken als eine der grössten Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Deshalb legen wir eine Hauptgewichtung unserer Dialoge mit Unternehmen auf deren Klimastrategien. Bei unserem Klima-Engagement gehen wir in fünf Schritten vor:

Die Kriterien unserer Unternehmensanalyse

Treibhausgas-Berichterstattung

  • Werden die relevanten Emissionen veröffentlicht?
  • Werden die veröffentlichten Emissionen von einer Drittpartei überprüft?

Treibhausgas-Reduzierung

  • Hat das Unternehmen in der Vergangenheit bereits relevante Emissionsreduzierungen erzielt?

Treibhausgas-Reduzierungsziele

  • Hat das Unternehmen ambitionierte Emissionsreduzierungsziele?
  • Sind die relevanten Emissionsquellen Teil der Ziele?

Massnahmen zur Treibhausgas-Emissionsreduzierung

  • Werden spezifische Massnahmen zur Erreichung der publizierten Ziele veröffentlicht?

Klima-Governance

  • Steht das Thema «Klima» unter der Aufsicht des Verwaltungsrates?
  • Sitzt eine Person mit Klima-Expertise im Verwaltungsrat?
  • Wird die Vergütung des Managements an die Erreichung der kommunizierten Klimaziele
    geknüpft?

Unternehmensdialog – Fallstudien

Best Buy: Mehr Transparenz zu Klimamassnahmen ist nötig

Die situation

Der US-amerikanische Händler Best Buy verfolgt ehrgeizige Klimaziele auf operativer Ebene. Jedoch stammen 90 % der gesamten Treibhausgas-Emissionen des Unternehmens aus dem Energieverbrauch während der Nutzung von Elektronik und Haushaltsgeräten. Diese kann Best Buy verringern, indem es energieeffizientere Geräte verkauft. Diesbezüglich strebt das Unternehmen bis 2030 eine 20-Prozent-Reduzierung der Emissionen an.

Unser Anliegen

Wir fordern mehr Transparenz zu den Annahmen, die diesem Ziel zugrunde liegen. Werden tatsächlich Produkte mit hohem Energieverbrauch aus dem Sortiment genommen oder hofft das Unternehmen lediglich darauf, dass Kundinnen und Kunden ihre Gerate vermehrt mit erneuerbarem Strom betreiben? Wir erwarten, dass Best Buy erklärt, wie sich das Unternehmen für die Entwicklung energiesparender Geräte einsetzt bzw. deren Verkauf durch geeignete Massnahmen fördert(z. B. gezieltes Marketing und Produktplatzierung).

Zwischenbilanz des Dialogs

Best Buy hat intern Massnahmen für den Klimaschutz erarbeitet. Die Energieeffizienz wird für alle Produktkategorien erhoben. Zu beiden Themen wird bisher noch wenig veröffentlicht. Globalance setzt sich weiter für eine aussagekräftigere Kommunikation und Offenlegung ein.

Sekisui House: Mehr graue Energie muss eingespart werden

Die situation

Sekisui House hat beim Thema «Klima» hervorragende Ergebnisse erzielt. Das Unternehmen hat sich ehrgeizige Ziele gesetzt und durch seine innovativen «Net Zero Energy Houses» bereits beeindruckende Erfolge zur Senkung von Emissionen während der Nutzungsphase von Gebäuden erzielt. Das Thema «graue Energie», die in den Materialien für den Bau von Häusern steckt, wird jedoch noch stiefmütterlich behandelt. Durch reduzierten Einsatz von Beton und Stahl könnte das Unternehmen weitere Emissionen einsparen.

Unser Anliegen

Wir fordern, dass Sekisui House die Treibhausgas-Emissionen des Neubaus systematisch erfasst und auch für diese Kategorie Reduzierungsziele verabschiedet.

Zwischenbilanz des Dialogs

Das Unternehmen bestätigt den festgestellten Status quo. Eine verbindliche Absichtserklärung für eine zukünftige Erfassung ist noch nicht erfolgt. Wir bleiben am Ball.

Nike: besseres Risikomanagement gegen Regenwaldabholzung nötig

Die situation

Durch den Einsatz von Leder, Papier und Karton besteht für Nike das Risiko, das Abholzen von Regenwald zu verursachen. Um das zu verhindern, verfolgt Nike das eingekaufte Leder bis zum Herkunftsland zurück. Bei Leder aus Brasilien müssen die Lieferanten Nike schriftlich bestätigen, dass das Vieh ausserhalb des Amazonas-Gebiets gehalten wurde.

Unser Anliegen

Wir fordern, dass Nike bei risikoreichen Rohstoffen und Herkunftsländern die Rückverfolgung der Rohstoffe bis zum Produktionsort sicherstellt. Angaben von Lieferanten allein sind unzureichend. Notwendig ist eine Prüfung durch eine unabhängige, qualifizierte Drittorganisation.

Zwischenbilanz des Dialogs

Nikes erste Antwort auf unsere Forderungen war generisch und nicht ausreichend. Wir werden die Fortschritte des Unternehmens in diesem Bereich weiterverfolgen und unsere Forderungen im kommenden Jahr erneut anbringen.

Wir analysieren Portfoliounternehmen auf ihre Wirkung auf Umwelt und Gesundheit und schreiben die Unternehmen mit massgeschneiderten Verbesserungsempfehlungen an.

Unsere Empfehlungen werden wir im ersten Quartal 2024 hier veröffentlichen.

Aktuelles zum Thema Stewardship