Salome Bechtler

Impact Research Manager

Déborah Haymann Daniela Stilke

„Investors are in a key position to motivate companies to do business with a positive impact on environment and society – that’s why I’m motivated to help them invest for the future.“

SALOMES BACKGROUND

As an impact research manager, Salome assesses the positive and negative impact of our investments on the environment, society and the economy. Her focus is on shareholder engagement: based on the company analyses, she draws up concrete and specific recommendations for Globalance’s portfolio companies. The recommendations, which are intended to increase the positive impact of the companies, are discussed in dialogue with company representatives.

The topic of sustainability has accompanied Salome since the beginning of her career. Her Master’s degree in environmental sciences from ETH Zurich plays a central role in this. She has always been interested in environmental as well as social issues. During her Master’s thesis, she worked on a study on iron deficiency in infants in Kenya. She also worked for the environmental consultancy Resource International in Reykjavik, studying the health impacts of landfill and industrial emissions.

Due to the central role of the economy, and to a large extent investors, in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals, Salome decided to reorient herself in this direction. She completed an MBA in “Finance and Responsible Investment” at the Sustainable Management School Switzerland. During an internship at Hesta AG, she gained insight into fund management as well as investment reporting and prepared a performance analysis of the private equity fund. as well as investment reporting and prepared a performance analysis of the private equity fund.

„Investors are in a key position to motivate companies to do business with a positive impact on environment and society – whether by financing projects or through constructive dialogue with companies. To use this influence effectively, you need a deep understanding of a company’s impact. That’s why I’m motivated to help investors invest for the future.

Salome Bechtler

Impact Research Analyst

Fabian Ottiger Claire Oechslin

„Investoren befinden sich in einer Schlüsselposition, um Unternehmen zu gesellschafts- und umweltfreundlichen Wirtschaften zu motivieren – deshalb inspiriert es mich, sie beim zukunftsorientierten Investieren zu unterstützen.“

SALOMES WERDEGANG

Salome beurteilt als Impact Research Analystin die positiven und negativen Auswirkungen unserer Anlagen auf Umwelt, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft. Sie setzt sich mit der Frage auseinander, wie die Wirkung einer Investition bestmöglich gemessen wird. Ausserdem verfolgt sie die aktuellen Entwicklungen im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit und verfasst Beiträge für unsere Kommunikationskanäle

Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit begleitet Salome seit dem Beginn ihrer Karriere. Ihr Masterabschluss in Umweltnaturwissenschaften an der ETH Zürich nimmt dabei eine zentrale Rolle ein. Dabei interessierte sie sich stets für Fragestellungen im Umwelt- wie auch im sozialen Bereich. Während ihrer Masterarbeit arbeitete sie an einer Studie zum Thema Eisenmangel bei Säuglingen in Kenia mit. Des Weiteren war sie bei der Umweltberatungsfirma Resource International in Reykjavik tätig und befasste sich mit den gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen von Abfalldeponie- und Industrieemissionen.

Auf Grund der zentralen Rolle der Wirtschaft, speziell auch der Investor*innen, für das Erreichen der globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele, entschied sich Salome für eine Neuorientierung in diese Richtung. Dafür absolvierte sie ein MBA in «Finance and Responsible Investment» an der Sustainable Management School Switzerland. Während einem Praktikum bei der Hesta AG erlangte sie einen Einblick ins Fundmanagement sowie in die Investitionsberichterstattung und erstellte eine Performanceanalyse der Private Equity-Anlagen.

„Investoren befinden sich in einer Schlüsselposition, um Unternehmen zu gesellschafts- und umweltfreundlichen Wirtschaften zu motivieren – sei es durch Finanzierung von Projekten oder durch konstruktiven Dialog mit Unternehmen. Um diesen Einfluss effektiv einzusetzen, braucht es ein tiefgründiges Verständnis der Wirkung eines Unternehmens. Deshalb motiviert es mich, Investoren beim zukunftsorientierten Investieren zu unterstützten“