Reto Ringger

Founder and CEO

Niklaus Haller

„We have a great vision, which we are dedicated to.“

RETOS BACKGROUND

Reto Ringger is the founding father of Globalance Bank. Giving birth to companies and raising them judiciously lies in his blood. Already in 1995 he founded SAM Group, which focuses it efforts on impact-oriented investments. The great success of SAM vouched for his pioneering spirit: in 2008, Reto Ringger sold this prospering asset management company to the Robeco Group.


While SAM Group works only with institutional investors, Globalance Bank under Reto Ringger’s leadership also enables private clients to invest in forward-looking companies and related financial products.

With Ringger at the helm, SAM rose to become a globally leasing provider of sustainable investments. It launched in 1997 the world’s first investment fund devoted solely to sustainability. Later, in cooperation with Dow Jones & Company, SAM introduced the very first stock index for sustainable investments and, in 2001, the Group introduced the first private equity fund in the area of cleantech. Reto Ringger knows all the ins and outs of the investment banking world by having worked in this field already at various renowned financial institutions such as Swiss ReUBS and Bank Vontobel.


Reto Ringger has received numerous awards for his entrepreneurial successes. Two examples: the Global Green Award from Green Cross International (www.gcint.org) for the launch of the Dow Jones Sustainability Index – and the Cleantech Pioneer Award (www.cleantech.com) for the successful establishment of the world’s first globally positioned cleantech private equity fund.

Reto Ringger holds a degree in economics (lic. oec. publ.) from the University of Zurich. He is member of the Club of Rome (www.clubofrome.org) and from 2012 – 2018 he was a member of the Executive Committee. Moreover he was Chairman of the Board of Trustees of WWF Switzerland (www.wwf.ch) from 2012 – 2016.

In July 2019 the International University in Geneva (IUG) has awarded Reto Ringger an honorary doctorate for his extraordinary achievements and numerous innovations in the field of sustainable investments.

„It was back in June 1997 when we at our young firm came up with the idea of initiating a sustainability stock index. I then flew to New York in the hope of convincing our preferred partner, Dow Jones, of the merits of this idea. I’ll never forget the joy I felt when that hope was fulfilled. From a mere idea came a tremendous success that has extended to this very day, 17 years after it was just a twinkle in our team’s eye. Now we have another great idea that we’re devoting all our efforts to. Today, Dow Jones is not our business partner, but for that we have a wide array of private investors, foundations and family offices.“

Reto Ringger

Gründer und CEO

Niklaus Haller

„Wir haben eine grosse Idee, für die wir uns einsetzen.“

RETOS WERDEGANG

Reto Ringger ist der Gründer der Globalance Bank. Das Initiieren und Voranbringen von Unternehmen liegt ihm im Blut. Bereits 1995 hatte er die SAM Group gegründet, die sich als weltweit erster Anbieter auf nachhaltige Anlagen konzentriert. Der grosse Erfolg gab seinem Pioniergeist Recht: 2008verkaufte Reto Ringger die prosperierende SAM Group an die Robeco-Gruppe.


Während die SAM Group sich ausschliesslichan institutionelle Anleger richtete, ermöglicht Reto Ringger mit der Globalance Bank nun auch Privatkunden, Familien und Stiftungen in zukunftsgerichtete Unternehmen und Anlageprodukte zu investieren.

Unter Reto Ringger Führung war SAM zu einem weltweit führenden Anbieter für nachhaltige Investments aufgestiegen. Die Bank legte1997 den weltweit ersten Anlagefonds mit Fokus auf Sustainability-Investments auf. Später lancierte SAM in Kooperation mit Dow Jones den weltweit ersten Aktienindex für nachhaltige Anlagen. 2001 legte die Gruppe den ersten Private Equity Fonds im Bereich Cleantech auf. Reto Ringger kennt das Investment Banking mit allen Facetten, arbeitete er doch in dieser Sparte bereits bei verschiedenen namhaften Finanzinstituten, unter anderem bei Swiss Re, UBS und der Bank Vontobel.


Für seine unternehmerischen Erfolge erhielt Reto Ringger zahlreiche Awards. Hier nur zwei davon: der Global Green Award von Green Cross International (www.gcint.org) für die Lancierung des Dow Jones Sustainability Index –und der Cleantech Pioneer Award (www.cleantech.com) für den erfolgreichen Aufbau des weltweit ersten global investierenden Private Equity Cleantech Fonds.


Reto Ringger hat ein Lizenziat der Wirtschaftswissenschaften (lic. oec. publ.) der Universität Zürich. Er ist Mitglied im Club of Rome (www.clubofrome.org) und war von 2012 –2018 Mitglied des Executive Committee. Ausserdem war er von 2012 –2016 Präsident des Stiftungsrates des WWF Schweiz (www.wwf.ch).


Im Juli 2019 wurde ihm der Ehrendoktortitel der International University in Geneva (IUG) für seine ausserordentlichen Leistungen und zahlreichen Innovationen im Bereich der nachhaltigen Anlagen verliehen.

„Es war im Juni 1997, als wir in unserer jungen Firma die Idee entwickelten, einen nachhaltigen Aktienindex zu lancieren. Also flogen wir nach New York, um unseren Wunschpartner Dow Jones von der Idee zu überzeugen. Wir mussten zwar mehrere Anläufe nehmen, bis das klappte. Aber als Dow Jonesschliesslich zusagte, konnten wir loslegen. Aus einer Idee wurde ein grosserErfolg, der auch 17 Jahre später noch Bestand hat. Mit Globalance haben wir wieder eine grosse Idee, für die wir uns einsetzen.Heute aber ist nicht Dow Jones unser Partner, sondern viele private Anlegerinnen und Anleger, Stiftungen und Familien, die mit ihren Anlagen eine Rendite mit Sinn erzielen.“