Events

Sebastian Copeland Adventures



Sebastian Copeland is a photographer, researcher and environmental lawyer.

Known as a photographer “who has created works of outstanding artistic quality and conveyed messages of urgent global significance”, Copeland has been named Photographer of the Year twice: in 2007 (IPA) for his first book Antarctica: The Global Warning (Earth Aware 2007) and in 2016 (TIFA) for his latest book Arctica: The Vanishing North (teNeues 2015), which covers ten years of photographic exploration of the far north. He has also produced documentaries documenting his crossings of the North Pole and Greenland.

Copeland has led expeditions across the Arctic Sea, Greenland and Antarctica, and has reached both poles on foot – the North and South Poles. With over 8,000 kilometers under his skis, Copeland holds several records and polar “first crossings” in the polar region. In 2017, Copeland was named one of the 25 world’s best adventurers of the last 25 years.

As an international speaker on the climate crisis for more than a decade, Copeland has warned audiences at the UN, universities and museums around the world, and many Fortune 500 companies, about the systemic changes taking place in the polar regions as a result of anthropogenic activity, and their geopolitical consequences. Copeland is a Fellow of the Explorers Club. He is on the board of President Gorbachev’s Global Green USA.

Journey

Events

Sebastian Copeland Adventures



Sebastian Copeland ist Fotograf, Forscher und Umweltanwalt.

Bekannt als ein Fotograf, „der Werke von herausragender künstlerischer Qualität geschaffen hat und Botschaften von dringender globaler Bedeutung vermittelt“, wurde Copeland zweimal zum Fotografen des Jahres gewählt: 2007 (IPA) für sein erstes Buch Antarktis: The Global Warning (Earth Aware 2007) und 2016 (TIFA) für sein neuestes Buch Arctica: Der verschwindende Norden (teNeues 2015), das zehn Jahre der fotografischen Erforschung des hohen Nordens umfasst. Er hat auch Dokumentarfilme produziert, die seine Überquerungen des Nordpols und Grönlands dokumentieren.

Copeland hat Expeditionen über das Arktische Meer, Grönland und die Antarktis geführt und beide Pole zu Fuß erreicht – den Nord- und den Südpol. Mit über 8.000 Kilometern unter seinen Skiern hält Copeland verschiedene Rekorde und polare „Erstdurchquerungen“ in der Polarregion. Im Jahr 2017 wurde Copeland zu einem der 25 weltbesten Abenteurer der letzten 25 Jahre ernannt.

Als internationaler Redner zur Klimakrise seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt hat Copeland vor einem Publikum bei der UNO, an Universitäten und Museen in aller Welt und vor vielen Fortune-500-Unternehmen gewarnt, die vor den systemischen Veränderungen warnen, die sich in den Polarregionen aufgrund anthropogener Aktivitäten vollziehen, sowie vor deren geopolitischen Folgen. Copeland ist ein Fellow des Explorers Club. Er sitzt im Vorstand von Präsident Gorbatschows Global Green USA.

Anfahrt